104th Outstanding Western Mass. Federal Employees

The Federal Executive Association of Western Massachusetts hosted the 11th Annual Eexcellence in Government Awards Program on September 16, 2013 at the Log Cabin Banquet & Meeting House where 17 awards were presented, recognizing 60 Western Massachusetts Federal Employees.
“With over 10,000 federal employees in Western Massachusetts, the members recognized today are truly the best of the best” said “Mr. Patrick DeFalco, FEAWM President. “Throughout these difficult times in federal government, these men and women demonstrated true professionalism and selfless actions in their fields, demonstrating the true character of federal service.”
The award program will recognized members in 17 distinct categories, to include Distinguished Federal Executive, Manager, Supervisor, the John W. Olver Congressional Staffer of the Year, Professional Employee of the year (4 sub categories), Outstanding Support Employee, Outstanding Service or Trade Employee, Outstanding Customer Service Effort, Outstanding Creativity and Innovation, the Unsung Hero Award, and the Outstanding Community Service award. In addition, the FEAWM will also award its first annual academic scholarship to a child of a federal employee.
During this year’s program Mr. John Gibbons, U.S. Marshal for the District of Massachusetts served as the key-note speaker; reinforcing the ideas if interagency cooperation and the importance of mentoring our junior leaders.
The Federal Executive Association of Western Massachusetts (FEAWM) is an association of more than 25 federal agencies that have joined together to underscore the federal government’s commitment to serving the people of western Massachusetts.
The FEAWM includes federal professionals from the departments of Agriculture, Defense, Interior, Justice, Labor, Treasury and Veterans Affairs, the Mass. National Guard, the District Court, Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, General Services Administration, Small Business Administration and Social Security Administration.
The following Federal Employees were recognized within their respective categories
Outstanding Support Employee-Category 1
Mr. Timothy Ewing
From Military Entrancing Process Station – Westover, Chicopee

Outstanding Support Employee-Category 2
Ms. Kate Whitacre
US Fish and Wildlife Services – Sunderland

Professional Employee of the Year-Emergency Management/Public Safety/Law Enforcement
Mr. Gary Andres
US Fish and Wildlife Services – Sunderland

Outstanding Federal Volunteer
Mr. Gerald Tierney
Veterans Affairs – Leeds

Professional Employee of the Year-Technical and Scientific
Mr. Christopher W. Wilczak
US Navy PMO SSP Shipboad Systems – Pittsfield

Distinguished Federal Supervisor
Mr. Daniel A. Smiarowski
USDA Farm Service Agency – Amherst

Professional Employee of the Year-Health Services
Dr. Mark A. Schneider
Veterans Affairs – Leeds

Unsung Hero Award
Ms. Joanne Guild
Veterans Affairs – Leeds

Professional Employee of the Year-Administrative
Ms. Jodie Kimmel
US Fish and Wildlife Services – Sunderland

Distinguished Federal Manager
Ms. Elvira Loncto
Veterans Affairs – Leeds

John W. Olver Congressional Staffer of the Year
Ms. Jeanne Ahern
Representing Congress Richard Neal—Springfield Office

Outstanding Creativity and Innovation
Mr. Alex MacKenzie
National Park Service – Sprigfield Armory, Springfield

Outstanding Customer Service Effort – Team
104th Force Support Squadron – Barnes Air National Guard Base, Westfield MA
A1C Desiree D. Barnes
MSgt James A. Brown
TSgt Kylie C. Burns
SMSgt William G. Butman
Ms. Jennifer L. Cesaitis
SSgt Jacquelyn M. Comer
MSgt Maureen E. Dickinson
MSgt Mark R. Gaskalka
SSgt Miguel A. Gonzalez
SMSgt Tricia J. Goodreau
SMSgt Andres A. Huxtable
MSgt Daphne A. Janes
MSgt Jennifer C. Juteau
TSgt Ronald F. Perry
MSgt Barbara D. Plotniak

Outstanding Creativity and Innovation – Team
MOVE! Committee Veterans Affairs – Leeds MA
Ms. Alice Abbott
Ms. Suzanne Burchman
Ms. Patricia Lariviere
Mr. Seth Maas
Ms. Dina Malone
Ms. Dina Manekas
Ms. Eva Parrish
Ms. Mary Rodowicz
Dr. Mark Schneider
Ms. Nicole Vallee

Outstanding Criminal Investigation – Team
Joint Terrorism Task Force – Representing Western Mass FBI, ICE, Marshalls Service
Mr. Paul Ambrogio
Mr. Luis Antonmarchi
Mr. Jeffrey Bower
Mr. James Daniels
Mr. Chris Evans
Mr. David Hallas
Mr James Hisgen
Mr. Timothy Irving
Ms. Crystal Komara
Mr. Michael Lewandowski
Mr. Andrew Litowitz

Chair’s Award
Mr. Alexander Sacchetti
From Social Security – Holyoke

To Top