Around Town

Westfield Taxpayers Association formed

WESTFIELD – Concerned Westfield residents and business owners have come together and formed the Westfield Taxpayers Association, Inc. (WTPA). The group is a non-partisan, nonprofit, educational and advocacy group representing both residents and businesses. It is dedicated to promoting efficient and responsible administration of our City of Westfield government, school system, and municipal utilities. The goals of the organization include researching issues, educating taxpayers, representing the concerns of the taxpayers, and planning action to affect change.
The founding members are homeowners, business owners, current and former city councilors, teachers, scientists, finance officers and accountants. The Association is open to all residents and business owners who can work cooperatively and productively in a non-partisan group.
:Westfield is a wonderful community with a great volunteer spirit. Our residents and businesses care about their community, and working together, we will find solutions to build a better and more fiscally-responsible sustainable community for the future,” stated a release from the newly formed group.
The WTPA Board elected officers at its July meeting. Brian Richards, former chief financial officer of Holyoke Gas & Electric, was elected president. Jane Okscin, an activist and an accountant with an MBA degree, was elected treasurer. Kathleen Hillman, an active member of WRAFT, former president of the Board of Girl Scouts of Westfield, a retired teacher (West Springfield), and former teacher’s union co-president, was elected as corporate secretary.
In the coming weeks, the Westfield Taxpayers Association will be advocating for three ballot initiatives, releasing a website and membership portal, investigating the formation of an elected Charter Commission, and working with state senate and state representative candidates to schedule a series of moderated debates before the November election.
If you would like to learn more or participate, please email [email protected].

To Top