Around Town

Four candidates return papers for mayor

Andrew Mullen

WESTFIELD – The city will have a preliminary election unless two candidates for mayor withdraw by the Aug. 22 deadline.

The deadline to return nomination papers was Tuesday. Most have already been certified, but City Clerk Karen Fanion said they have until Aug. 20 to certify signatures.

Donald F. Humason Jr., Michael A. McCabe, Kristen L. Mello and Andrew Mullen all returned papers for the office of mayor. All but Mello’s have been certified.

One of the six City Council ward seats is unchallenged: Ward 3 candidate Bridget Matthews-Kane.

Donald F. Humason Jr.

Michael A. McCabe

Ward 1 incumbent Mary Ann Babinski is being challenged by current At-large Councilor Nicholas J. Morganelli Jr., both of whom have had their papers certified. Ward 2 Councilor Ralph J. Figy is being challenged by Juan F. Navarette. Both candidates’ papers were certified. Signatures were certified for Michael Burns, Ward 4 incumbent, and his opponent, Mary L. O’Connell. Current At-large Councilor John J. Beltrandi III is challenging Ward 5 incumbent Leslie D. Lefebvre. Both candidates’ papers were certified. Signatures were also certified for incumbent Ward 6 Councilor William J. Onyski and his opponent, Jeffrey A. Neece.

There are 13 candidates for seven at-large council seats. Incumbents Cindy C. Harris, Brent B. Bean II, Dan Allie, Dave Flaherty, Nicholas J. Morganelli Jr. and Matt Emmershy returned papers and were certified. Current Ward 3 Councilor Andrew K. Surprise also returned papers for an at-large seat, which were certified. The incumbents are being challenged by Rudy F. Musterait, Dan Moriarty, Kristen L. Mello, James R. Adams, Richard K. Sullivan Jr. and Matthew T. VanHeynigen. Because Morganelli and Mello returned papers for two elected positions, they must withdraw from one by Aug. 22 at 5 p.m.

Kristen L. Mello

There are four certified candidates for three School Committee seats including incumbents Ramon Diaz Jr., Bo Sullivan and Diane M. Mayhew. Also running is former member Jeffrey L. Gosselin.

Ward 1 Municipal Light Board member Kevin M. Kelleher Sr. is being challenged by Luis Morales. Ward 3 MLB member Dawn M. Renaudette is opposed by Robert F. Brogle and MLB Ward 6 member Robert C. Sacco is being challenged by Jason J. Bean. Incumbent MLB members Ray Rivera, Ward 2, Francis L. Liptak, Ward 4 and Thomas P. Flaherty, Sr., Ward 5, are all unopposed.

Kathleen A. Knapik is the only candidate for the Athenaeum Trustee six-year term.

The general election is Nov. 5.



To Top