Owls claim Cup

WESTFIELD – The Westfield State Owls claimed 2015 Howard C. Smith Cup as the best overall program in the Massachusetts State Collegiate Athletics Conference for their performance in league athletic competition this year.
The Owls formally presented the trophy to Interim President Dr. Elizabeth Preston at the school’s annual athletics award banquet on Monday night.
“We’re excited to bring the Smith Cup back to Westfield State,” said Westfield State Director of Athletics Richard Lenfest. “Our student athletes had a spectacular year of competition, and the Cup is emblematic of the hard work they put in; as well as the dedication of our, fans, coaches, staff and administration in supporting our programs and creating opportunities and an environment where our students can be successful. It’s a great rivalry among the teams in our league, and everyone at Westfield relishes the competition with our sister schools.”
Westfield won its 11th Smith Cup in the 43-year history of the award, it’s fifth in the last 10 years, but it’s first since a run of four cups in five years ended in 2011.
The Smith Cup is awarded annually to the member institution which compiles the most points based on the placement of each of its programs competing in the 15 league championship sports.
Westfield State finished with 119.67 points (74.79 percent) out of 160 possible points after the end of the spring season. The Owls took won MASCAC titles in women’s lacrosse, men’s outdoor track and field, women’s basketball, men’s basketball, men’s cross country, women’s cross country and field hockey this season.
The Smith Cup is named in honor of former Massachusetts State College Trustee Howard C. Smith, who in 1970, urged the athletic directors of the eight State institutions to hold a series of meetings to discuss the possibility of forming an intercollegiate conference. In June of 1971, Smith’s dream became a reality as an affirmative agreement was reached and the MASCAC was created.

To Top