Around Town

Mayoral rematch a 2-way race; 6 candidates for School Committee

Incumbent Mayor Donald F. Humason, Jr. and retired police captain Michael A. McCabe will meet again in the Nov. 2 election. (HOPE E. TREMBLEY/THE WESTFIELD NEWS)

WESTFIELD — Efrain Luna, who had taken out papers for Mayor on June 15, did not return them by the Aug. 3 deadline. Consequently, there will be a two-way mayoral race between incumbent Mayor Donald F. Humason, Jr. and retired police captain Michael A. McCabe in the Nov. 2 general election.

Jason A. LaFleur, the first to take out papers for a seat on the School Committee on April 15, did not return his papers by the deadline, leaving six certified candidates for three four-year terms on the School Committee. Certified candidates include incumbents Timothy J. O’Connor and Heather W. Sullivan; former School Committee member Jeffrey L. Gosselin, and newcomers Martha M. Breton, Kathleen L. Hillman and Thomas A. Lewis. Incumbent School Committee member Cindy A. Sullivan, who had submitted the required signatures for nomination, informed the city clerk Thursday that she has withdrawn from the race.

There are eight certified candidates for seven at-large seats on the City Council. All of the candidates are incumbents except for Nicholas J. Morganelli Jr., who is currently the Ward 1 councilor, and has returned certified papers for both at-large and Ward 1.

Incumbents running for the two-year at-large seats include James R. Adams, Dan Allie, Brent B. Bean II, Dave Flaherty, Cindy Harris, Kristen L. Mello, and Richard K. Sullivan Jr.

Newcomer Mary Beth Berrien has been certified to run for the Ward 1 council seat in a challenge to Morganelli, the only ward being challenged. Ward 2 Councilor Ralph J. Figy, Ward 3 Councilor Bridget Matthews-Kane, Ward 4 Councilor Michael Burns, Ward 5 Councilor John J. Beltrandi III and Ward 6 Councilor William J. Onyski will all be running unopposed on Nov. 2.

According to the city clerk’s office, Morganelli will have to withdraw from either the at-large race or the Ward 1 race by Sept. 27 at 5 p.m., as a candidate may only be nominated for one municipal position per election.

Certified candidates running unopposed for the Municipal Light Board are Kevin M. Kelleher Sr., Ward 1; Ray Rivera, Ward 2; Dawn Renaudette, Ward 3; Francis L. Liptak, Ward 4; Joseph B. Mitchell, Ward 5; and Robert Sacco, Ward 6.

Andrea L. Pennington is the sole candidate for a six-year term as Westfield Athenaeum Trustee.

To Top